New recipe #1: Lamingtons

image

Growing up these were one of my favourite cakes. My grandmother, when we’d visit, would have a lamington cake filled with strawberry jam and whipped cream. I am told by a very reliable source (my Mum), that she made them because she knew how much I loved them! These cakes mean birthday and celebration and comfort to me.  Recently, during a down moment, a good friend mentioned coming by for a cup of tea and bringing some lamingtons… Well that got my creative juices running so to speak. I knew I could get some locally, for a really stupid expensive price, but lamingtons were easy right?

Last year I mastered sausage rolls and pavlova, so I figured it wouldn’t be too hard. Finding an authentic recipe was the hard part in all honesty. Personally, I find it sad that people would use a box mix and call it good… Making a sponge cake is not that hard.  But find one I did, and the results were awesome. So awesome that I bribed my friend Kirsten to come over to get one, my kids nommed them down and I foisted three onto Kirsten when she left, just because they were so awesome.  So recipe success in my opinion. Next recipe I am going try is Butter Chicken… Now that I’ve found all the appropriate spices.

Lamingtons recipe at allrecipes.com or here is the recipe for the link phobic:

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

2 cups all-purpose flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1/2 cup milk

2 (8 ounce) packages flaked coconut

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease and flour an 8×12 inch rectangular pan. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the 1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup sugar and the vanilla until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition. Add the flour mixture alternately with the milk; beat well.

Pour the batter into the 8×12 inch pan. Bake in preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let stand 5 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely. Store overnight to give the cake a chance to firm up before Icing.

To make the Icing: In a large bowl, combine confectioners’ sugar and cocoa. In a saucepan, heat milk and 2 teaspoons butter until the butter is melted. Add the milk to the sugar mixture and mix well to create a fluid, but not too runny, Icing.

Procedure: Cut the cake into 24 squares. Place coconut in a shallow container. Using a fork, dip each square into the icing, then roll it in the coconut. Place onto rack to dry. Continue for each piece. The Icing will drip, so place a sheet of parchment paper under the rack to catch the drips.

Nutritional Information 

Amount Per Serving  Calories: 284 | Total Fat: 11.1g | Cholesterol: 31mg

One thought on “New recipe #1: Lamingtons

Leave a Reply

